Moderator: Admin

MicheBel

Rob Dickinson at the Friars Club

Post by MicheBel »

Wow. Wow. Wow.

ROB DICKINSON
Friars Club
Indie 103.1 free show

I'm not good with names of band members. So I didn't really know who Rob Dickinson was until I heard his interview on Chuck P.'s wondrous Dead Air. Of course, I'd heard the Catherine Wheel, but I never connected the two. So lately, Indie's been playing a lot of Catherine Wheel and Rob Dickinson's solo stuff (which I love just as much). I was psyched to go to this free concert.

Especially because it was in the illustrious Friars Club in Beverly Hills. What a cool place. Such a history. All the portraits on the walls of comedians past. And Larry King? Um, ok.

You know, every Indie show has cool people who populate it. This one was no different. LA hipsters of every stripe. Old, young, fashionistas and guys in jeans. Some famous, some not. Everyone there to dig the music.

I was hanging out, talking with a really nice man who was there with his teenage son. In walks Rob Dickinson. I knew this by his vibe. Well, and by the several pretties who were hanging around him. See you later, he says. He is indeed a handsome man up close.

The first band played, great stuff. Wish I could remember their name now.

But then it was time for Rob Dickinson. By this time, I'm hanging with Jewell and JR (from Jonesy's blog), two amazingly beautiful women. We manage, somehow to get up really close. In fact, those two were damn near onstage with him. We were so close we could see his sweat. It was frikkin awesome.

He and his band of six others rocked the house. And I loved it all equally. Whether it was an old Catherine Wheel hit, or a new (in Indie rotation) Rob Dickinson hit, it was awesome. Hard-rocking guitar-blaring, or quieter acoustic. It was all amazing. People were taking photos all around (wish I'd brought my camera, damn it!). It was being videotaped (and people had been interviewed earlier).